The benefits of being in the band

I have a deep appreciation for the band. I was in the band throughout middle school, high school, and college. I played the clarinet, bass clarinet, and I also played the tenor sax when I was in 8th grade jazz band. Needless to say music has always played a major role in my life. I was truly a band geek, but I wouldn’t change it for anything in the world. Being in the band provided me with a lot of experiences and just gave me a sense of belonging. Being in the band is about being a part of something bigger than yourself because when one person messes up it affects the whole unit and one person’s success again affects the whole band. We all had to work together. That’s one benefit of being in then band. You learn about true teamwork. Teamwork is one of the most important things about being in the band. Also, going back to what I said earlier I’ve also been able to experience I never would have if it wasn’t for being in band. Being a part of my high school marching band I was able to perform in the Georgia Dome (home of the Atlanta Falcons) TWICE. I have been in numerous parades and more importantly being in the band gives you that sense of family. If you’re going to be in the band you’re most likely going to spend more time with your band mates than your actual family because you have after school practices, weekend competitions, and fundraisers but it was the most fun that I ever had. One of the things I do credit towards the band is my appreciation for all types of music. I have such a love for music and I really believe that being in the band for all of my school career has helped with that because being in the band you’re exposed to different types of music. Band will always hold a special place in my heart.

Author: apmb10

I live in Goldsboro, NC. I am a writer and I love the arts and culture. I'm approaching into getting into some freelance work and I'm just trying to do what I love

Leave a Reply

