What it means to be an English major?

Sometimes I feel like having an English degree can be a blessing and a curse. On one hand having an English degree is great because the skills that you learn while being an English major is transferable across a multitude of platforms. You can use an English degree in a number of careers because it’s always good to have good writing/communication skills. However, on the other hand it seems like being an English major has done nothing for me. It has been noted that an English degree is one of the most useless degrees a person could, but going back to my previous point I don’t wholeheartedly agree with that. I have learned much while being an English major. Being an English major has helped me to gain critical thinking skills and making literary connections. Another reason I’ve always liked English is because nothing is clear cut unlike math. In math either an answer is right or wrong, but with English that’s not the case. You have the freedom to interpret literature the way you see it and make connections that make sense to you. I have to add by the way that I had some amazing English professors at Emory & Henry College. They challenged me and they were always there to help me along the way. My writing definitely became better as a result of the type of professors that I had.

Author: apmb10

I live in Goldsboro, NC. I am a writer and I love the arts and culture. I'm approaching into getting into some freelance work and I'm just trying to do what I love

2 thoughts on “What it means to be an English major?”

  1. I completed my english degree just last month!!! and I agree with your thoughts. People have and still do raise their eyebrows when I tell them what I study, and as you say it has in a way done nothing to me but at the same time done so much!
    In terms of jobs and where i can apply my knowledge the world is our oyster but being an INFP also doesn’t help caz I cant make up my mind now >_< which is why I want to focus on the blog because I abhor going out and working under someone. Too stifling and too many rules…

    btw its Zai from the fb group here haha~~ 🙂

    Like

    1. I appreciate your thoughts on this and yes even though I haven’t found anything with my degree yet I still really appreciate my degree and the professors I had. I had some professors who really meant a lot to me. I do love this blog too. I think it’s giving me the experience I need.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

